Gibson Brands Forums

Country Western

davenumber2

No, I mean round shouldered. The CW was originally round shouldered and was changed to square in the early sixties. I am aware of the Sheryl Crow model and other square shouldered reissues.

As I'm sure you're well aware of, they've continued to reissue the Southern Jumbo since its reintroduction in 1991. The 2018 model looks excellent by the way, it's no natural top though. Was that a trick question? Did we all fail?

Cool. Learn something new every day

I don’t need to worry until tomorrow now

Any other differences in CW vs J50 other than the block fretboard inlays ?

The neck is also bound. There may be other minor cosmetic differences but I'm no expert.

Cool. Learn something new every day

I don’t need to worry until tomorrow now

One and done, that's my motto. If you have to have a motto.

The neck is also bound. There may be other minor cosmetic differences but I'm no expert.

A favorite feature might be the "lasso" label . . . captures the 50's Cowboy movie era so well:

gK86uIG.png?1

Emin7 mentioned that the CW's tended to be fitted with a thinner pickguard (a good thing).

Oio1sKa.png?2

Saw the watermark on the photo- John S of True Vintage is a member here on the forum (tvguit), but not active of late. Always has nice guitars.

Knowing Gibson they probably call it an SJ natural.

I believe that's actually what they called it before adopting the CW moniker.

It really is just an SJ with a natural top. I think the CW designation was adopted around 1956 or so, as was the unique CW soundhole label with the rope around the label.

One of the best mid-50's slope J Gibsons I've played was Ol' Fred's '56 or '57 CW.

I believe that's actually what they called it before adopting the CW moniker.

It really is just an SJ with a natural top. I think the CW designation was adopted around 1956 or so, as was the unique CW soundhole label with the rope around the label.