Gibson Brands Forums

Is It The Short- Or Long-Term Memory, I Forget

zombywoof

There was a day when I could listen to something, walk around humming it for a day or so and be playing in another day or two. Apparently a funny thing happened down the road. A while back I decided to go back and revisit a couple of tunes. First on the agenda was Blind Blake's "West Coast Blues." I had been playing this one since at least 1968. Right off the bat I totally blanked out on a couple of bars just in the introduction. I used to be able to shut my mind off and let my fingers do what they apparently knew how to do without any thinking going on. That is always when I felt I was in the pocket. Then I decided to see what happened with Rev. Gary Davis' "Cincinnati Flow Rag." I had always wanted to run this one up the flagpole with a 12 string. I could not even recall how I used to kick it off. It was not the notes but my right hand just could not find the rhythm. I figure it is brain farts brought on by hanging around this mortal coil for so long. Maybe I need to eat more fish.

I seem to totally blank on things. Used to remember everything, now things are just gone. I can get them back with a nudge (i.e. a quick review of chords etc... or first few notes of a lead.) I've resolved myself to it reasoning it's just a matter of the brain getting full from all of life's misc stuff... and things that aren't at the forefront getting pushed out. that and probably the new laws and policies allowing access to certain accouterments aren't helping.

Pete Townshend put out a chord book years ago of select Who tunes. It was either "Pinball Wizard" or one of the songs from Quadrophenia where he said sometimes he had to look at the opening chords again before hitting the stage...I'm sure all the Remy-Martin had nothing to do w/it...

I don't have that problem.