Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar in the bay area

sanjoseguitars

So I've recently been taking local acoustic guitar lessons in San Jose as I'm a beginner but I was looking into getting my first Gibson guitar. I know that they can get a bit pricey but I'm pretty sure I want to pick up the J-15. But is there a good recommendation on where I can find it for a little bit cheaper (not on ebay). Would craigslist be a good option and what do I have to watch out for when I go check out guitars for wear and tear?

This one for $650 on craigslist.

First welcome. Nice bunch of folks here.

That one on Craigslist is a classical guitar so a nylon string instrument. Nothing wrong with that but as you mentioned a J-15 I am assuming you want a steel string. You might be better off though buying from a reputable store. Less chance of getting burned. If you want to save some money buy used. You couldt talk to your teacher who very likely can get you pointed in the right direction.

I wouldn't go for the one you posted and I personally would steer clear of Craigslist.

nylon string guitars are different animals, a bit more finicky than a steel string. I've been playing for over 50 years, and I've gone thru a bunch of these to try and find the right one. I finally did, but, that's another story..

So J15s are like $1,300 new.. give or take. Used, I suppose you could be looking at maybe 650/700 second hand. also IMO nothing really all that risky with eBay these days.

Just make sure that the seller has some decent feedback, and see how they communicate with you thru eBay's email service.

Most of the eBay transactions these days are thru PayPal, and eBay/PayPal does force people to play by their rules. If you find anything you think you're interested in, post it in the Acoustic Forum BEFORE you bid or BIN. you will get some feedback on the auction to help you decide if that is a good deal, and a reasonable price etc..