Gibson Brands Forums

Is there a need to "set up" my SG

Alco Flower

Hello,

Now I might be asking a dum question but I am no guitar tech so I am just unsure...I have a 1994 Gibson SG and I was not sure if I should have it set up/tuned up, I don't think that is the right terminology but again I am no expert. I guess my question is what should I look for/listen for to tell me if it needs to be set up. I apologize if I am just wasting people's time but hey I'm new and no guitar tech. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Alco

Hello,

Now I might be asking a dum question but I am no guitar tech so I am just unsure...I have a 1994 Gibson SG and I was not sure if I should have it set up/tuned up, I don't think that is the right terminology but again I am no expert. I guess my question is what should I look for/listen for to tell me if it needs to be set up. I apologize if I am just wasting people's time but hey I'm new and no guitar tech. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Alco

My suggestion, DIY !!! Setting the relief 1ST, it will require a CAPO on the 1ST Fret. Hold down the 15TH Fret and close the relief (Turn Trus Rod NUT Clockwise looking down the neck @ P-Up's) until the LOW 'E' is ALMOST touching the 7TH Fret. Once there, back off the relief by turning Truss Rod NUT an 1/8TH to 1/4 of a turn, that being a counter-clockwise turn. Remove Capo, Then get yourself a STRING ACTON GAUGE and an Allen-Key for the TUNE-O-MATIC Bridge and set the action at the 12TH fret a li'l over 5/64THs Low 'E' and 4/64THs Hi 'E' and lower it from there until your hear buzzing. Once where you want it to be, TUNE to pitch and ROCK ON !!

You do not need to pay a tech, its simple and you will save $$ and enjoy working on your own AXE. Video's on YOOTOOB can help you as well if my instructions weren't too clear.

Wild Bill's approach would be a good place to start if it needs any fettling.

...I have a 1994 Gibson SG and I was not sure if I should have it set up/tuned up...