Gibson Brands Forums

Hi Newbie here needing help

Hi and thank you for allowing me to joining the forum. My son has just started his own repair business building a workshop attached to our house. In between repairs we buy and sell to help make ends meet. So cutting to the short, we bought a guitar that had been heavily abused with someone expressing their anger with an electronic sander (I assume). The photo's cant detail how much of the surface has been remove, including the top of the headstock, neck and headstock veneer. The body has also been attacked but only in paint removal. The routing has been chiselled and reshaped into ...no shape so not sure what they were hoping to instal.

Ok would love to know if this actually genuine. So far I feel the truss cover looks genuine,along with the truss rod nut. There is the remains of a book shape on the headstock but not much and the neck I believe is mahoghany, so that leaves me leaning to the possibility it maybe genuine. I have absolutely no knowledge of bolt on Gibson Les Paul's and didn't know such a thing existed as a young player living in the UK. Hope the photo's help

post-92835-020545900 1528630601_thumb.jpg

post-92835-040549500 1528632704_thumb.jpg

post-92835-061845200 1528632725_thumb.jpg

post-92835-009719700 1528632743_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

That is VERY weird......blink.gif......

There has been some strange work carried out on that thing (No Sh!t, Sherlock!). There doesn't seem to be any doubt that the neck is a genuine Gibson item - the peghead has the correct 'wings' - but the sides appear to have been worked on to make the head narrower. There are also plugs filling-in 'alternative' tuning-peg holes. Possibly the narrower head made the original tuner placement impractical / impossible and the ones in use now are of a later date?