Gibson Brands Forums

Open G

uncle fester

More of a music thing but I just started playing with open tunings. Been doing it on my 3 string slide for a couple years, but never made the connection to the 6 string.

A couple take-aways...

•  
  • I learned a lot on the 3 string to apply to the 6 string
  • Going from 3 to 6 strings is like 'BAM'!!! Power but needs to be used wisely, batman) - I can only imagine 12 strings!
  • Open tunings are phenomenal
  • Red Rooster sounds awesome, gets old quick
  • RL Burnside is difficult... very difficult, at 1/3 speed sounds hokey
  • Son house, lightning hopkins, and junior kimbrough are regulars on my Pandora channel
  • I aspire to put some old time raggedy blues together in the fashion of BK
  • Now I need at least one other guitar to keep open tuned

I really do feel like a kid in a candy shop! Thanks for letting me ramble. Anyone have thoughts on open tunings, or other things that mixed the guitar game up a bit?

Rgds - billroy

More of a music thing but I just started playing with open tunings. Been doing it on my 3 string slide for a couple years, but never made the connection to the 6 string.

A couple take-aways...

•  
  • I learned a lot on the 3 string to apply to the 6 string
  • Going from 3 to 6 strings is like 'BAM'!!! Power but needs to be used wisely, batman) - I can only imagine 12 strings!
  • Open tunings are phenomenal
  • Red Rooster sounds awesome, gets old quick
  • RL Burnside is difficult... very difficult, at 1/3 speed sounds hokey
  • Son house, lightning hopkins, and junior kimbrough are regulars on my Pandora channel
  • I aspire to put some old time raggedy blues together in the fashion of BK
  • Now I need at least one other guitar to keep open tuned

I really do feel like a kid in a candy shop! Thanks for letting me ramble. Anyone have thoughts on open tunings, or other things that mixed the guitar game up a bit?

Rgds - billroy

Open G and let the Keef songs rip.