Gibson Brands Forums

Mossman vs. Gibson

RhythmDr.

This is a Gibson forum and my primary git is a Gibson Advanced Jumbo (2002) which I absolutely love and I only play dreadnoughts. However, that said, there are many great dread guitar brands out there. For me personally, I've looked for reasons to buy a Martin but when I play them against any comparable Gibson (D-28 against an AJ for instance), the Gibson always wins! Therefore, I do not own any Martin acoustic guitars. I do own a Martin F-65 electric though and it is sweet!

But I digress. I have been shopping Mossman guitars for about 10 years now and today finally purchased my first one online. The one I bought is a 1973 Flint Hills model which is basically a D-28 or AJ equivalent with Sitka spruce top and East Indian Rosewood back/sides. As I'm sure most of you know, there's a risk in buying an acoustic guitar online because the tone is specific to each guitar and obviously you can't play it first unless the guitar is local. That said, some brands/models, Mossman being one of those brands, are hard to find locally and therefore it's not so easy to play 10 of them (or even 1) to see which one sings. So if you want one that is not a popular brand, sometimes you just have to take a chance. That was me today.... I took a chance!

So I guess I'm wondering if any of you guys/gals have played or owned a Mossman. If so, which model? How did it compare to your favorite Gibson or Martin? I bought mine confidently knowing that if the tone doesn't suit me, I can re-sell it because there is always a demand for Mossman guitars. I was personally targeting an early 70s model because I feel like those were Stuart Mossman's prime years (pre-fire and pre-distribution/storage issues). So with that... any Mossman experiences (good or bad) someone wants to share? I'm super stoked for my new guitar but I don't see it ever replacing my AJ.