Gibson Brands Forums

Firebird or LP?

Chris1547

Hey all!

I need some help on an upcoming purchase. I have been playing a crappy mim Strat for sometime now and now that my playing has improved, I’m looking to purchase a Gibson. I have my two choices narrowed down to either a used Firedbird V Traditional or a used Les Paul 50’s tribute.

There are very few guitar stores where I live and they have very limited selections. So, actually trying either out is going to be pretty much impossible. It’s certainly not preferable but I’m going to almost have to buy something aight unseen and go from there.

I play mostly late 60’s-70’s classic rock with a strong leaning to Southern Rock. So, tone wise, either will certainly fit the bill.

I’m a big guy 6’7” with long fingers.

I just got a plexi clone so it’s dying for a Gibson to be plugged into it!!

Please fire away!

Genre wise I tend to play similar music to what you play. Southern rock and Skynyrd specifically is why I started playing guitar in the first place. I really like Allen Collins so I always wanted a firebird. So I got one. I always wanted a LP so I got one as well. The two are very different. The offset body on the firebird takes some getting used to. Not like it will take years to do so but you will notice it at first. The neck profile is much flatter on a firebird compared to the LP. Access to higher frets is better on a firebird. I personally like the sound of mini humbuckers. They are very articulate and yet still handle dirt well. I love my firebird. Looks, sound, playability, tone, etc. All that being said everytime I go back to a LP I realize just how damn impressive that model is and it's no wonder so many pro's use them. They just feel right. You sacrifice a little with an LP like high fret access. You can get there it just requires an alternate hand position to play up there. Watch Gary Rossington. He'll play up there some time and you can really see the way he alters his hand.