Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone ES-339 Pro - volume controls

Albatross

Hi, I'm a newbie, as a guitarist starting in February and on this site starting two days ago. After looking at many reviews on starter guitars I bought a Squier Fat Strat and I’m very pleased with it. I guess everyone’s pleased with their first guitar.

I’d already seen comments about buying guitars becoming addictive so I wasn’t surprised to find myself quickly looking for another myself. After watching many more video demo’s and reviews I decided to buy an Epiphone ES-339 Pro VS recently, not least because of the positive reviews, it’s size and versatility due to the twin humbuckers and coil tapping feature.

I'm well pleased with this guitar. However, I was surprised to discover that with the selector switch in the middle position, if EITHER of the volume controls is set to minimum there is no output at all. I expected that if the neck pickup volume was set to minimum and the bridge volume increased from 0 to 10 the output would be that of the bridge pickup, with volume increasing continuously as the bridge volume control is rotated to maximum. What I see is that maximum volume is reached when the bridge volume reaches about 2 and it does not increase after that. And vice versa.

Thinking I might have a Friday afternoon guitar I watched all the videos again to try and determine if this is normal, but it was impossible to tell what positions the volume controls are in at any given time. I contacted the seller, who confirmed that my guitar is operating as normal and I see from posts on this site that it is so, although apparently it does not occur on the Gibson ES-339.

Does anybody know why the Epi works this way when the Gibson doesn’t, and whether there is a ‘fix’ worth doing to to the Epi?

• 2 weeks later...