Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Explorer Elite 2018 vs Gibson Lzzy Hale Explorer

Razorbz

Hi all,

I'm shopping for a Gibson Explorer but I'm not sure which model to go for. So far I like how both the elite and Lzzy explorer look and sound but I know they're both completely different makes.

Mainly different pickups, body finish, and fingerboard material.

Pickups are swappable but the other two I have some concern:

Nitrocellulose lacquer(elite) vs gloss nitrocellulose nacquer(lzzy).. I've tried both guitars and I think the black gloss finish weights down the resonance heavily as I tested it out

unplugged and felt a lack of vibration on the lzzy compared to the elite. I'm not an expert but does a highly resonance guitar means a better guitar? Should this be a a deciding factor?

I only had access to one of each guitars so maybe it was just a bad one from the batch? Has anyone else compared them?

Lastly Baked Granadillo(elite) vs Richlite is there an actual difference? Both guitars sound good but I can't compare them tonewise since they use different pickups. (Burstbucker/57 Classic)

Which model should I go for? I plan on adding Optima Gold strings on it too in the end to complement the gold hardware.

I bought the 2018 EXPLORER 'ELITE' last week and I am glad I did. The deciding factor for me was the 'RICHLITE' board on the HALE.

I'm real glad I got the 2018 EXPLORER 'ELITE', it is definitely BAD-A$ !!!

Buy an 'ELITE', save your self $600 and get yourself a Guitar made of wood.