Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Custom vs Reissue/Historic

Der_Kaiser

When I started playing in the mid 90's the pinnacle was the Les Paul Custom, certainly it was for me and my mates. At this time none of us had heard of historic reissues, if they were being produced they definitely weren't on our radar. The object of my teenage desire was a white Gibson Les Paul custom.

After many years I have finally got the money to get the Custom I've lusted after for 20 years but now it seems like the majority of the guitars coming from the custom shop are now reissues and historics, this is going to be a one off purchase I doubt I'll be spending £4000 on a guitar again so I want to make sure I'm getting my money's worth. So my question is to anyone who owns both the original custom and one of the reissues R8/R9 etc. How do they compare? Are they in the same league in terms of quality? Is it still studio, standard, custom or is it studio, standard, custom, then reissue, historic? If you could only have one which would you choose? I realise I should be trying them all and that was my intention but having spent weeks trying to find a white custom it turns out there's none that I can just go and try in fact I can only find 1 in the whole of the U.K. and it's a bit of a trek so at the moment any opinions would be really helpful.

Thanks a lot for your opinions!

Chris

Chris,

I was led to believe that Les Paul Custom isn't a Custom shop guitar it's a USA model (there are a lot of more knowledgeable people no here than me, so hopefully they'll confirm or dismiss this).

Never the less, I think you'll find that a Custom and a reissue are completely different guitars and the only way to discover which one is right for you is to play as many as you can. Personally I'd always go for a reissue, but that's just me :rolleyes:

Regards,

Ian

I too have limited knowledge but since nobody else has chimed in yet I'll tell you what I know, or think I know.