Gibson Brands Forums

Martin Retros on a 'hog slope?

dhanners623

So we're in the U.S. on our summer visit. Getting in some fun gigs (a necessity, since I live in Kuwait, Where Music Goes to Die) and I wanted to gauge the members' attitudes/experiences about Martin Monel strings.

I put a set on my kitbuilt mahogany square-shoulder dread (a D-18 clone) and LOVE everything about them -- so far. But I have not yet tried any on my J-35. What experience, if any, have you guys and gals had with them on a mahogany slope? At some point, I'll no doubt put some on to try, but I wanted to hear your thoughts first.

It matters because I tend to buy all the strings I need for the coming year during the summer trip. Can't get Martin Retros in Kuwait, and even your basic D'Addario EJ17s will set you back about $18 a set in the desert.

Yeah, my ears will be the final judge, but of those of you who have tried them, what did you think? I'm a rhythm guitarist and do some fingerstyle to accompany my vocals, so even though I'm trying the Tony Rice set, I'm not tearing off any great licks....