Gibson Brands Forums

my acoustic roadmap

uncle fester

I build roadmaps for a living, so while thinking aloud (interpreted as daydreaming on a con call) I put together my 'acoustic' roadmap.

2. K&K mini, tonedexter, and a myrtle mic
  3. Jumbo Reissue
  4. 2000 ish Hummingbird
  5. '34 Jumbo
  6. Banner J45

I can think of a billion others to add the list (Zombies CF100, something maple, LG-00...) don't know how realistic a '34 Jumbo or Banner J45 is, or have a shovel big enough to dig ourselves out of our baseball induced hole (BTW - 3rd in the country) but this is where my GAS is currently focused.

Anyone else have a shout out or two to a coveted Gibson?

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I do not think anything out in advance. I never planned to buy most of the guitars I own. They just turned up at the door handed to me by somebody hoping to sell them and knowing the best way to get me to buy anything was to let me have my hands on it for a bit. There was one particular guitar, a NYC-made Epiphone, I had in the house no less than three times for a test drive. Each time I returned it to the owner he shoved it back into my hands with a lower price tag. Because I moved last year opportunities have declined but I still get photos of guitars somebody wants to send me to check out. In the past year, I have turned down an early 1960s Epi Frontier and early 1950s Gibson J-50. I did jump on a 1956 Harmony H-40 which is actually harder to come by than the other two and which I may not see pop up again for sale a very long time.

My particular dilemma is I just sold a guitar. Even though I made a heck of a profit on it I am not sure I should have sold it. The only way to make myself feel better is to replace it.

Awesome, I've been listening to a bit of Charlie Parr lately, and he does a lot on a 12 string, it should be on my list!