Gibson Brands Forums

Whats so good about Gibson guitars?

misterlutherman

I'm wondering, as there are probably specific things people go to Gibson for. Or is it simply because you played a Gibson guitar as a kid and associate closely with it since?

What makes a Gibson unique? Do they have a certain tone, are they made well, do they feel a particular way when playing one?

I have been playing Gibsons since the 1960s. Never owned a new one though. In the end there are only two kinds of guitars out there - those that you like the feel and sound of and those you do not. I have played pretty much every guitar out there at one time or the other and I guess just found Gibsons work for me. We own five of them ranging built between 1935 and 1961. Then again, I also own six Harmony guitars.

For me I love the sound by some favorite artists who use Gibsons- Sheryl Crow, The Black Crows, The Rolling Stones from their Sticky Fingers Exile days. So I have a Southern Jumbo and even though I have very nice Martin I'm fighting the urge to trade it in for a sweet J200 on sale. It's hopeless

They are aboslute utter crap, and sound like theyve got socks inside them, .....avoide them at all cost !

Exactly -- if you find and old one, walk (or run) away. We know this for sure because we have 50+ old Gibsons. Also, please contact us immediately so we will be able to not buy it too.

Let's pick,

-Tom

Tone > When you find a stellar example of any of Gibson's body shapes, that signature tone will get locked in your head (for that particular body size), and you'll be hard pressed to find that sound anywhere else.

Playability > Short-scale fingerboards combined with Gibson's typical fretboard radius happen to work exceptionally well for me.