Gibson Brands Forums

NGD: Gibson 2019 J-45 Walnut Custom Guitar Honey Burst

thejtl

I think I found my holy grail guitar today. Backstory: I’ve been a working musician for 30+ years but I’ve recently had some success with tech videos on YouTube. I promised myself I would buy myself a great guitar if I ever made real money with my creative stuff. Well, as of today, I did.

I’d been shopping around for a while, thinking about a Martin d-18 or d-28 or a J-45. I couldn’t find anything I really loved but this morning I was looking through the mail and saw the Gibson had released a GC exclusive J-45 Walnut just yesterday. I looked online and my store had it in stock so I went to check it out.

No one know what I was talking about, so I had to explain 3 times before they found it in the back, still in it’s shipping box. I was the first to play the thing. Looks great, smells great, plays amazing. I walked out an hour later with the guitar and I’m still pinching myself. I didn’t think I’d like the honey burst finish but it looks a lot better in person.

As I was checking out the manager told me that this guitar was a limited edition to the point that that GC would not be getting another one. It’s a beautiful, special guitar but not so fancy that I feel like it isn’t a J-45. I couldn’t be happier, until the sticker shock sinks in.

post-39685-017666900 1542689611_thumb.jpeg

I’ve played a similar walnut guitar, the J-15 walnut burst non-cutaway model. It was awesome! I can only imagine how good the J-45 one you mention must be. From the photo it looks awesome. Like that honey burst finish! Best of luck with it and congrats!

QM aka Jazzman Jeff

Edited by QuestionMark