Gibson Brands Forums

Replacement Bridge Pins

DaveKell

I'm on several other guitar forums so I'm already aware as a newbie here I'm probably bringing up a topic that's been tossed around countless times. I tried to Search this but the returned results (145) were very non specific to the topic. My 2016 le Custom Shop AJ I recently acquired is endearing itself to me more every time I play it. I'm curious though as to the reasoning for the cheap plastic pins. I've read plastic is most impervious to climate changes and lots of high dollar guitars come with them to alleviate a documented problem of bridge splits from pin swelling in transit.I tried using ebony pins from a badly damaged commissioned build of a super abalone by Kazuo Yairi that is awaiting my acquiring the funds to have it restored. They were too small. Has anybody received any true benefit from replacing the plastic pins in a maple AJ? I'm totally enamored of the sound of this guitar as is but the pins give it a cheap looking touch in my estimation. I'm far from anal about it however, but would like to know if a suitable replacement is available.

Also, can anyone tell me why I see pics of what I believe is my same exact guitar but some of them have CUSTOM running vertically on the truss rod cover while others don't (mine)?