Gibson Brands Forums

J-45...how to find a great one?

davistld01

I’m a 60-year old beginner...and have had several nice guitars in the last couple of years trying to find what I really liked. I must say, I considered myself a “Martin guy” until someone plopped a J45 in my lap a few weeks ago...and it sounded like that sound in my head a want a guitar to sound like...if you know what I mean.

I have read that you need to play several J45s to find a “great one”, but my local music shops are small & don’t carry much. I’ll probably end up buying online. How can I know I’ll get a “great one” if I can’t play it first?

I think many of us fall for this thinking. When we buy something we want to reaffirm that decision. We want others to as well. Bottom line is “a great one” will be one you get set up properly, and that you play a lot. The guitar will wake up/open up.

How often have you read a NGD post where the poster, who bought online, made sure to state that the guitar shop guy played seven of them and picked this one out special?We all need to feel like we got a great deal, or bought the unicorn. I think modern Martins and Gibsons are fairly consistent in build and tone. You can buy online just fine. I would try Wildwood or CME, and buy new? They will negotiate on price well, and they have good return policies. I’ve bought from them often.

I’ve bought new, and I’ve bought used. My successful used purchases have come from folks I knew or respected... I own two Gibsons that I got from forum members here.

Have fun, and enjoy the GAS.

First - Hi, , , how excellent to hear you are starting up now as the second youth begins. No frankly, you are old, but not too old - and ditto here.

Second - What's great to your ears'n'soul isn't necessarily great for me or him or her.

The instruments hold so many variables - bass/mids/trebs - balance - volume - feel - tone-separation etc. - that there's no final print.