Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie, help me identify this custom pro

fiddlebick

Ive never owned electric, although I play acoustic guitar and fiddle. Looking at a used epiphone by an idividual, and it has the custom shop indicator on the headstock. Number on the headstock is 311598447. I've tried to use the decoder I searched for on the internet as pertains to epiphne serial numbers, but nothing makes sense. Can someone help me so I can identify the year the guitar was made. I want to look at the specs for this particular year guitar before I buy. I know there are some guru's out there to help me. Thanks folks!

I'm far from an expert but it looks bogus plus I don't know that Epiphone has a custom shop version of anything. This is the Epiphone serial number decoder. Any pictures you could provide would be very helpful.

YYMMFFRRRRR

YY = year of manufacture

MM = month of manufature

FF = factory ID

RRRRR = ranking number

Example: 08121520333 = 2008 / December / factory 15 / unit 20333

Note: Models from 2008 and onwards omit the factory ID letter prefix. Pre-1994 productions also frequently omit the factory letter codes and appeared as all digits, e.g. 3042779.

FYYMMRRRR

F/FF = factory ID

Y/YY = year of manufacture

MM = month of manufacture

RRRR = ranking number

Example: 3021234 = Samick Korea / 1993 / February / unit 1234

Example: S3021234 = Samick Korea / 1993 / February / unit 1234

Example: S93021234 = Samick Korea / 1993 / February / unit 1234

Example: SI01021234 = Samick Indonesia / 2001 / February / unit 1234

Example: SI010212345 = Samick Indonesia / 2001 / February / unit 12345