Gibson Brands Forums

Seasonal Sales?

Dadgad1046

Since I am new to Guitars I have not been following the sales cycles. Seems a lot of dealers are closing out some at discount. Is this normal timing after NAMM and the 2019 model release? Since I need to stretch the buying power the best I can good timing is of great interest. Is this a good time to look for a buy?

Since I am new to Guitars I have not been following the sales cycles. Seems a lot of dealers are closing out some at discount. Is this normal timing after NAMM and the 2019 model release? Since I need to stretch the buying power the best I can good timing is of great interest. Is this a good time to look for a buy?

Hi and welcome. What I usually do when I'm looking for a deal is either:

1) Find used on classified, Reverb, eBay, etc. Most of my guitars are all used purchases. I fix them up a bit and they play excellent.

2) Sign up for Guitar Center or the like mailing list and they can offer 15% off coupons and such. I use these to get a match at the local store near me, but that may not be an option for you.

3) Know a good friend that works in a guitar store that can get you special pricing

You mentioned that you're new to guitars, so how long have you been playing and which guitar tickles your fancy? Being that beginner guitars are usually cheap as ever and you'd only look to save a couple dollars if anything, being that you are looking to save tells me you're looking for a fancier guitar and looking to get that nice discount...

Anyhow good luck, just be patient and you'll find a very nice guitar out there.

Hello and welcome...

Well 2019 is going too be a very odd year and if what the new boss CJ says is true then its going to change some what from this year.