Gibson Brands Forums

1965 Southern Jumbo - is it a (very good) fake?

Howdy,

I have a '65 Southern Jumbo that I bought from GC Hollywood (the "Vintage Room") back in 2013. It plays beautifully. As you'd expect from an instrument with such a long story, it has its idiosyncrasies, but man can it hold a note!

I had a local musician/fellow acoustic enthusiast take a look at it last week and he's convinced it's a fake. He was most concerned by the logo (I can't see the problem), the truss rod cover and the bridge pin (which might be aftermarket, but I really don't see the significance). His guess was that the guitar is "most likely Indonesian".

I'm completely stumped. I'm no expert, but the guitar seems consistent with the info I can find online. It also seems unlikely that such a reputable vintage dealer would pass it off as authentic if it wasn't. That being said, he has worked in some fine guitar stores in his time, and owned a number of quality instruments, so it's hard to disregard his judgement completely without some more qualified opinions.

I've attached two pics - I tried to post more, but seem to be limited as I'm a new member (fair enough). For what it's worth, the serial number is 316490 (though I know these are easily replicated).

Thanks so much for your help.

yIjZ7rR.jpg

wCsn8rH.jpg

So you have a replacement TRC and bridge pins. Means virtually nothing. The possibility of an older refin or variation in the original finish is not unlikely. Remember, consistency and Gibson have never been synonymous. Structural details might be telling, one way or another, but without hands-on examination or VERY detailed photos, that's a difficult call. Personally, I'd just continue to play and enjoy.

That's a beautiful finish there, ksdaddy. I've seen a couple of 65s with the cherry finish online, like this one here on Reverb. Mine is pretty similar - although the light when I took the photos last night wasn't the most flattering.