Gibson Brands Forums

Even In The Quietest Moments

drathbun

It has been a while since I put another video together. I've been working on a multi-track cover of Supertramp's "Even in the Quietest Moments" and thought I'd just play through a live version. I finally got my 2017 Custom Heritage Cherryburst 12 string back from service where my tech made some excellent tweaks to the nut and the saddle. It plays much better now and sounds glorious.

I flubbed a couple of lyrics but at least I played it all the way through without crashing and burning. The flatpicking pattern on this song isn't what you'd expect. I studied a live performance video of Roger Hodgson playing this solo and had to go against my instincts to not pick this with just alternate picking DUDUDU. It is more like DDUDUD.

The multi-track is taking a while as I'm building it from a MIDI file as there is no backing track available for this song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QLvYJZbWhE&feature=youtu.be

• Upvote 1

That 12ver sounds awesome. Nice pickin.

Thanks, dan. This tune is one of the first things I play whenever I pick up a 12. This and "Over The Hills and Far Away"... although, at my age, I'll just call it "Over the Hill".

Nice Doug, really liked it! Was that just one mic?

Thanks, billroy. I had the Rode NT1 about a foot and a half in front of me and the guitar and sent that to the left channel while I plugged the onboard LRBaggs Element pickup direct into the right channel and then just balanced them and added a bit of compression, EQ and reverb.

Another gem for this forum. Great-sounding 12-string and you play it well. Your picking accuracy is "spot on." A 12-string can be very noisy or it can be played like this. Excellent job. [thumbup] [thumbup]

Thanks, MP! It took me longer to unlearn the WRONG way to play this, than it took me to learn it the first time 30 years ago!

Edited by drathbun