Gibson Brands Forums

I am a SKANK!

drathbun

Many of you know that I have a YouTube channel on which I post various videos of guitar related stuff. I also use the same channel to do videos on another hobby of mine; fountain pens. I like to order various inexpensive Chinese fountain pens and do unboxing and writing sample videos on them.

Of course, I demonstrate the pens with my hands in front of the camera. I am careful to let viewers know I am a fingerstyle acoustic guitarist and that's why you see long nails on three fingers on my right hand. Regardless of this caveat, I get feedback that I should "trim your nails dude!". The other day, I got a comment that my "Skanky nails ruined the entire video".

I've worn my nails long for more than 20 years. I keep them trimmed, clean and filed. However, even after all this time, I'm still self-conscious about them. I can't play with a thumb pick. I've learned to play with nails and I like the sound they make. At what point do I trim them shorter or even try to play with the flesh of my fingertips and lose the nails to keep from being seen as a SKANK?

oqD7aKI.png?1

Thank you for your replies. I did expect those suggestions but I don't think I asked the right question in my OP. What I meant to ask was about others who use their own nails or even the James Taylor type false fingernails to play guitar. What kind of reactions do you get in public (when you're not playing your guitar)? If I wear a Gibson hat or Taylor shirt or carry my Gibson pen with me, at least those are visual clues for people to figure out I'm not a skanky freak. I hate having to introduce myself "Hello I'm Doug, I play guitar" at social events. Or do you just keep your right hand in your pants pocket at the risk of having people think even weirder things?

I play fingerstyle all the time, but I have short nails and just use the finger tips. Its hard to get much dynamic range that way, but it avoids the obvious issues you are having.