Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson SJ-200 vs Hummingbird and James Bay

bundigibson

Let me get started by saying that I have zero experience in buying or playing a guitar, but am looking to start. In addition, I would like to buy a present for somebody - an acoustic guitar. She's a huge fan of the artist James Bay and has been playing herself for over 15 years.

This friend has mentioned that James Bay has a Hummingbird, although I am not too sure. Based on my ''research'', if you can call it that, I actually never saw him play a Hummingbird. I have a feeling it's the (S)J-200.

Based on https://equipboard.com/pros/james-bay he has the SJ-200 in Vintage Sunburst.

A couple of questions I have:

- can anybody confirm that James Bay plays the (S)J-200, and not the Hummingbird?

- and if so, is the guitar pictured below the Vintage Sunburst (S)J-200?

- can somebody confirm or explain the names SJ-200 vs J-200? Are these one and the same?

1k0.jpg

Let me get started by saying that I have zero experience in buying or playing a guitar, but am looking to start. In addition, I would like to buy a present for somebody - an acoustic guitar. She's a huge fan of the artist James Bay and has been playing herself for over 15 years.

This friend has mentioned that James Bay has a Hummingbird, although I am not too sure. Based on my ''research'', if you can call it that, I actually never saw him play a Hummingbird. I have a feeling it's the (S)J-200.

Based on https://equipboard.com/pros/james-bay he has the SJ-200 in Vintage Sunburst.

A couple of questions I have:

- can anybody confirm that James Bay plays the (S)J-200, and not the Hummingbird?

- can somebody confirm or explain the names SJ-200 vs J-200? Are these one and the same?

1k0.jpg

That would be a Sj 200 standard vintage sunburst.

JC