Gibson Brands Forums

Curious about quilted mahogany on a Custom J-45

gibtex5

I've been looking at different J-45s on ebay, and this one caught my eye:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330218163658&indexURL=0#ebayphotohosting

Does anyone here have any experience with this type of wood on a J-45 custom? I just couldn't find anything about it anywhere. Looks lovely, but I'm curious about the sound vs. rosewood.

Thanks!

I had one for almost a year. Played and sounded great! Lots of forums members have seen and played it as well. But I sold mine for $1750. Same guitar.

Oh well. You weren't around when I needed you! lol

Thanks for the feedback though.

I have no experience with a quilted Mohogany J45, but I do own a quilted Mohogany Martin D18AG, and I would feel that there would be a lot of difference in a J45 Rosewood and any type Mohogany J45.

To my ear Rosewood has more overtones, vs. Mohogany, which is a more direct tone.

I would think the Red Spruce top would be the real sound difference when compareing this quilted J45 to a standard Mohogany J45 with a Sitka Spruce top.

To my ear, my Quilted Mohogany Martin D18, sounds just like a Martin D18V, which features the same braceing and standard Honduran Mohogany. Its just real nice eye candy which does add to the uniqueness and price.

That is one good looking quilted J45!

Dale.

I saw and heard the one that nid2007 had. It sounded great. I've also played a new one at my local guitar shop. I liked it a lot. He may still have it and if so, I'm sure he can do a lot better on the price than the one on E-bay. It was at Guitars Etc. in Longmont, Colorado. It might be worth giving Todd or Tim a call and see if they still have it.

http://www.guitarsetc.net/