Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson LGO HELP!!!

iPlayDMB

Hello all! I just took a walk-thru because I'm in the market for a home. The owners no longer live there, but in the garage I see a old beat up guitar case. I've been playing for nearly 20 years and have DREAMED of the day of coming across the "find." An elderly lady selling her deceased husbands 1920 Martin, etc.

Anyway, I open it up (I had snuck away from the realtor - sue me). It's a Gibson. I bring it inside. I'm somewhat friendly with the realtor and tell him to pass along the news that the owner should NOT keep this guitar in the cold (it's 11 degreed today) garage and that it could have some serious value.

So it's a beautiful acoustic - I snuck a couple pics that I can upload when I get home from work but all it had inside the sound hole was "LGO." No other numbers. I couldn't inspect it as well as I would have liked but I looked inside the sound hole the best I could - no sign of a serial number.

The LGO appeared in black ink in writing no larger than 3/4 the heith of a penny. The pick guard was screwed on with three screws.

Please contact me if that (which I doubt it does) allows anyone to identify the model.

Dave@iPlayDMB.com

I'll post the two quick pic's I was able to snap. Thank GOD I brough the camera to take photos of the house! Haha

By the way - what's with the password requirements for this forum??? I tried a 10 character password with numbers and mixed caps and it still wasn't good enough!? Good luck if I ever remember the crazy ars p-word I came up with!

It's an LG-0. That's the only identification it needs. All-mahogany, usually with a bound top, gold silkscreen headstock logo. Depending on the year it will have either a rosewood or plastic bridge. Introduced in 1959, I believe, discontinued in 1970. From 1962 to 1966 they had plastic bridges, though many have been replaced since then.