Gibson Brands Forums

Overdrive Vs Distortion Pedals

andrewade

I'm a bit unclear on why so many people use distortion pedals with tube amps. Isn't the point of a distortion pedal to emulate the sound of an over-driven tube amp? If a good all-tube amp is naturally over-driven, wouldn't using a distortion pedal mask the amps true tone? I use an over-drive pedal to push my Kustom brand tube amp's natural distortion even further but, my KNOW IT ALL buddy keeps telling me that I should add a distortion pedal to my pedal board because "all the pros have a DS-1 on their pedal board." I'm kinda new to using pedals so, any help/further explanation would be appreciated. Andre

• 2 weeks later...

Welcome Andre. I personally use my distortion pedals to overdrive my amp at lower volume levels. Sometimes I use them to get more punch or edge. As a fellow tube amp owner you probably already know a tube amp's tone is best when cranked to 11 so it's a matter of taste and usage. Other people may have their own reasons for using them. My pedals are pretty versatile with good EQ's esp. the Metal Zone. At the time this was cheaper than getting a power attenuator and gave me more tone options. Still not sure what to think about power attenuators and the possible damage they can do to a good tube amp.

Rewd.

• 4 months later...

I'm a bit unclear on why so many people use distortion pedals with tube amps. Isn't the point of a distortion pedal to emulate the sound of an over-driven tube amp? If a good all-tube amp is naturally over-driven, wouldn't using a distortion pedal mask the amps true tone? I use an over-drive pedal to push my Kustom brand tube amp's natural distortion even further but, my KNOW IT ALL buddy keeps telling me that I should add a distortion pedal to my pedal board because "all the pros have a DS-1 on their pedal board." I'm kinda new to using pedals so, any help/further explanation would be appreciated. Andre