Gibson Brands Forums

J-45 Standard Vs Songwriter deluxe studio EC

Tam

Hi Guys,

newbie here and a newbie with guitars.

Im looking at buying a guitar and narrowed it down to the two choices.

Which one would you choose and why? Im leaning towards the songwriter as its more appealing and it comes as a cutaway which i want. But i like the sweet bass sound and reputation of the J-45.

Because im new i obiviously don't know what a good guitar is like, but from what i know i'll be playing more of a fingerstyle/classical style as opposed to rock/jazz/blues.

Please give your thoughts.

Regards,

Tam

Both fine guitars. You can't go wrong.

If I wanted a cutaway, I'd buy the Songwriter.

But, you should think about how much you would actually play above 12 to make use of the cutaway. Then spend time playing both to try and decide if you can live without the the sweet bass sound and reputation of the J-45, or if having the J-45 is going to make you miss a cutaway.

Good luck. [crying]

Hi Tam, and welcome. Since your new to guitars, I'm curious what your criteria was for choosing these two specifically, and is this your first guitar, or are you already playing something? If so, what is it, and what do you like or not like about it?

Generally, I'm of the opinion that guitars with built in electronics are not a good buy. You pay a lot of cash for a system that may be out of date in a few years. Imho, better to add after market electronics if you need it. And, for beginners, or near beginners, it's liable to be a while before you use the electronics anyway, so why spend the money?