Gibson Brands Forums

What kind of music are we working on ?

Hi, I was wondering what kind of music people in here are working on. I have been studying jazz guitar online thru the Jimmybrunoguitarinstitute, and find it enjoyable.

I'm new to jazz and still love other kinds of music...as long as it has lots of guitar work in it... I have the 150 hot licks that Arlen Roth put out many years ago and just realized , seeing him on here helping folks that I still have it...

Was wondering who else you use to study under ? Have any of you ever used 99cent guitar lessons . com ? They have some nice lessons too.... If any of you have any suggestions, please...Let's hear them.. I'm 62, and really only got serious with guitar about 11 years ago, about a year after I went on disability... Now..I'm totally addicted and continue to need all the help I can get...

Was wondering who else you use to study under ?

You seem to be on the right track. As a jazz guitarist' date=' my two greatest influences are Bucky Pizzerelli and Freddie Green. Both have "instructional" materials available from Mel Bay Music Publishing.

Here's a pic of Bucky sittin' on the couch in my studio, playing my L-5, giving me a lesson!

[img']http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3171/2947898805_f318125c8f_o.jpg[/img]

• 2 months later...

I quit smoking (after 50 years of puffing)....

so i bought a Epiphone LP Special-II (el cheapo)

used, a VOX 15R Pathfinder amp used and 3 lesson

books... Hal Leonard Guitar Methods books 1,2 & 3.

That was a year ago.... today i am age 65.

I play the blues today... fine blues

matter of fact.

I also upgraded as a anniversary gift to myself

to a Epiphone LUCILLE which is absolutely perfect.

I can not and would not justify spending MORE on

"the other" brand.

If any glue loosens, no problem, i will buy

some Elmer's Glue (Made in the USA) and reglue.

No big deal.

CHEEKS