Gibson Brands Forums

Looking at 2 LPs. Endorsements/opinions wanted...

Durango Kid

I am currently seeking out my first Les Paul. I've been playing Fenders since I started 11 years ago and they are like home for me but I have decided that a Paul is mandatory.

There are two models that I have been interested in for a while. I'm not crazy about the graphics on either one but that doesn't really matter. What I'm looking for is that classic Les Paul on-the-edge sizzle and bite. I also want a neck with minimal finish on it. I like satin and if need be, I will take a steel wool to any neck to get the proper feel. Here are the two that I'm considering. Your experience and thoughts are appreciated.

Joe Perry Boneyard-Seems well done except for maybe the tuners. The Burstbuckers intrigue me because they are supposed to be a quality pup but I don't know much about them. Had one in my hands once years ago and I remember that I liked the neck a lot. Good solid feel. These come up on ebay every once in a while so I figured I could probably get one for about $550 if Im patient.

The Les Paul Ultra-Comes very highly rated and I like the thought of the lighter weight. Not sure about the weight balance issues I hear about though. Most of the hardware seems decent but again, I don't know much about these Pups. Neck has a satin finish and is supposed to be a slightly narrow profile. Supposed to be good for Fender players.

I look forward to your thoughts

If you are really bent on the satin finish, an easy fix would be to get one of the "Faded" G-400's... You will definitely get that sound, plus its a VERY nice looking guitar with the satin finish and "aged" hardware....

If you don't like the sound, you can get new pickups... May I be the first on the "new" forum to recommend GFS pickups

guitarfetish.com For that sound, I would go with the 59's...

If your bent on the Les Paul look, I would go for the ultra... but then again, I'm not you...