Gibson Guitar Board: Frequensator Tailpiece ? - Gibson Guitar Board

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Frequensator Tailpiece ?

#1 User is offline   Mark 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1712
  • Joined: 27-December 07

Posted 27 January 2008 - 02:03 AM

Hi All. I was curious as to what peoples opinions were to this tailpiece. Bob "Notes" helped me with
some upgrades to my Casino and I love them, and I have always liked the split tailpiece but I know
nothing about them.

Will it dramatically change my tone?
Will it fit on my Casino?
I have seen them for sale at Parts are Parts for $45.00
Will I have to do a new setup for the Bridge etc?

Thanks for the help and I like the EPI new forum
I just hope I don't get removed
8-[ Mark

#2 User is offline   enjoyfebruary 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 25-January 08

Posted 27 January 2008 - 08:46 AM

I put a Frequensator on my dot studio and it definitely made it more of that acoustic-open sound. Though since you already have the trapeze it might not necessarily do a whole lot for you. The only setup is screwing it in. lol. Good Luck.

#3 User is offline   Mark 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1712
  • Joined: 27-December 07

Posted 27 January 2008 - 09:13 AM

enjoyfebruary! Easy for you to say. I washed my car today and it is a balmy 33 degrees. Its clean, but the locks are frozen! Anyhow, I really
just like the look of the Frequensator so its worth a try unless someone here disagrees. Thanks for the reply.

Mark

#4 User is offline   Sleeko 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 24-January 08
  • LocationHampstead, North Carolina

Posted 27 January 2008 - 10:13 AM

I have an obvious affection for this tailpiece . . .

Posted Image

Some don't, but that's ok. To each his own. I think they look like a tribute to the twin towers. =D>

#5 User is offline   copper1281734000 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: 24-January 08

Posted 27 January 2008 - 10:45 AM

Quote

I have an obvious affection for this tailpiece . . .

Some don't, but that's ok. To each his own. I think they look like a tribute to the twin towers. =D>


I like your cello collection every time I see it.
"Whatever you are, be a good one"
-Abe Lincoln

My (soon to be) Epiphone:
Valve Junior

New EpiWiki: http://epi.p3net.net/
And Forum: http://epi.p3net.net/bbs/

Go to them!

#6 User is offline   Sleeko 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 24-January 08
  • LocationHampstead, North Carolina

Posted 27 January 2008 - 10:50 AM

=D> Ah, tanks cooper, eh copper ! =P~
?;^p

#7 User is offline   Fonzie 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 27-January 08

Posted 27 January 2008 - 11:19 AM

I think this explains the sound difference.

"The short fork on the bass side results in a deeper tone. The longer fork is used on the treble side for extra brilliance. The forks are interchangeable for varying tone as well as string tension. Epiphone used them to change the tension on the strings. By making the bass strings longer through the tailpiece, the tension is higher and stiffer, making for a "tighter" bottom end sound, while the shorter top strings would have looser tension and therefore easier to play solos on the higher strings and upper frets of the instrument."

#8 User is offline   ne_buddy 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: 24-January 08
  • LocationWherever I go

Posted 27 January 2008 - 12:41 PM

Love the frequensator on my Riviera.

It seems to add a chime-like overtone to the high end of the sound.

#9 User is offline   Mark 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1712
  • Joined: 27-December 07

Posted 28 January 2008 - 11:11 AM

Thanks for the replys. I think I'll pick one up


Mark

#10 User is offline   Larry1281734007 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 28-January 08

Posted 28 January 2008 - 12:38 PM

I put a frequensator tailpiece on my Korean Casino and I think it looks better than the trapeze one that came with it. There were no problems installing it and it required no adjustments on the bridge.

#11 User is offline   Fonzie 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 27-January 08

Posted 28 January 2008 - 02:28 PM

Quote

I put a Frequensator on my dot studio and it definitely made it more of that acoustic-open sound.


you got pics of that?

#12 User is offline   Lerxst1281733995 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1061
  • Joined: 23-January 08

Posted 28 January 2008 - 02:54 PM

Quote

I put a frequensator tailpiece on my Korean Casino and I think it looks better than the trapeze one that came with it. There were no problems installing it and it required no adjustments on the bridge.


Blasphemy!! Don't you know you're supposed to make your Casino look MORE like John Lennon"s?? Not LESS!!

Forgive them John, for they know not what they do!

](*,)

#13 User is offline   Sleeko 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 24-January 08
  • LocationHampstead, North Carolina

Posted 28 January 2008 - 03:00 PM

](*,) Ahh Ha Ha Ha! Oh, now Lerx, that's jus terrrrribbbble fursur! O:)

#14 User is offline   Parabar 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3661
  • Joined: 03-July 08
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 29 January 2008 - 06:55 AM

One thing to be aware of with the Frequensator (or Freakin' Satyr if you're not a fan) is that it may limit your choice of strings because of the extra string length needed on the 3 low strings. I generally use D'Addarios or Gibsons, and before I replaced the Frequensator on my Broadway, the D strings weren't long enough to wrap securely around the tuning posts.

I personally find the Frequensator kinda frugly, although it looks somehow ok an on Emperor Regent. When I replaced it with a heavier L-5 tailpiece on my Broadway --- ohmygoodness what an improvement in tone! It sounds much livelier and more present now

#15 User is offline   Mark 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1712
  • Joined: 27-December 07

Posted 29 January 2008 - 08:49 AM

Parabar- It just seems that with a Thinline guitar my options are limited for changing the tailpiece. I would love to put the tailpiece from Super 400 on but it just wont fit. Mark

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users