Gibson Brands Forums

Suggestions for JP Emperor II mods

davyk

Hello all,

Glad to have found these forums. I have spent a few days reading through the old posts as well as the old archives at gibson.com. So much great info on here.

I'm the proud new owner of an 03 model JP. First, I know this is pure jazz box, but I like to be different. I'm a novice guitarist, and I came across this one cheap at a second hand store. The finish is wonderful and the feel and playability are fantastic. Something about the body and neck just fit with how I play. Playing it acoustic it has the sweetest clean tone, even with the old strings, tuned it up and just love the tone!!!!

Now for the downside, the electronics are crap. Can't say enough about how bad I dislike this thing plugged in. The jack has loose wires with a bad ground causing a lot of buzz anytime it's plugged in (touch the metal part of the jack and ground with the other hand and it goes away). The tone pots cause major static any time they are touched, the bridge pickup cuts out now and again while playing, the tone pots don't really appear to do anything other than create static actually. But, it was a good price, and I would pay that much just to play acoustic with it on the couch.

The tone, even through a clean channel, is not what I am looking for either. Even through the bridge pickup the bass is far to loud. I've tried tweaking the pup height a bit, but I can't compensate enough. Just strumming a simple G chord all you get is "booom - booom - booom". It's too much bass and too muddy.

So, my plan is to rebuild. Replace all 4 pots, the selector switch, jack, pups, wiring, and possibly a tune-o-matic to replace the wooden bridge.