Gibson Brands Forums

Pardon My Ignorance But...

Billybob Dylan

I've only owned Fenders up til now, so I'm new to the world of Epi's, semi-hollows, Nashville bridges & stop tailpieces.

I bought a Dot the other day, and I remember reading somewhere about upgrading the bridge & stopbar to lightweight (aluminum?) ones. OK, so I get the concept of upgrading pick-ups, pots & switches for better sound, and I kinda get the idea of upgrading the bridge and/or saddles, but what difference does the stopbar make?

Is it really a worthwhile upgrade? And if so, if anyone's done it, can you post the part numbers and tell me where you bought them?

Thanks.

I've only owned Fenders up til now' date=' so I'm new to the world of Epi's, semi-hollows, Nashville bridges & stop tailpieces.

I bought a Dot the other day, and I remember reading somewhere about upgrading the bridge & stopbar to lightweight (aluminum?) ones. OK, so I get the concept of upgrading pick-ups, pots & switches for better sound, and I kinda get the idea of upgrading the bridge and/or saddles, but what difference does the stopbar make?

Is it really a worthwhile upgrade? And if so, if anyone's done it, can you post the part numbers and tell me where you bought them?

Thanks.[/quote']

Aluminum is considered an upgrade for its rigidity.. It's said to increase sustain as it doesn't absorb or rob the string of as much energy.. It's also said that aluminum is better for resonance, as it passes more of the vibrational energy into the wood.. There's an ongoing debate whether mass or rigidity enhances sustain better.. I'm on the fence about it myself.. When I was coming up, I was always told that the heavier a bridge is, the better for sustain... I started off as a bass player, and heavy bridges made of brass and other high density metals (like a Badass bridge) always worked well, so I never questioned it... One of these days, I'll try an aluminum bridge/tailpiece arrangement and see for myself..