Gibson Brands Forums

Need Help identifying '44-45 Southern Jumbo

dcurrens

I need some help from those who know. I have what I have been able to narrow down to a 1944-45 Southern Jumbo Flattop. It has a five piece neck, mahogany sides, gold script logo with the "Only a Gibson is Good Enough" gold silkscreened banner logo, and adjustable truss rod. What I need help with is that the inlays on the fingerboard are not double parallelagram pearl fingerboard inlays but rather full rectangular inlays. Also there are 20 frets instead of the normal 19. There does not appear to have been a fretboard change that I can see, but then I am no expert. The FON is very faint on the poplar block but it appears to read 2745. Could that be the 27th week of 1945? I don't know.

I need help from those in the know so if anyone could help I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks

Maybe it's really a Les Paul? Just kidding. Southern Jumbo's don't have retangular inlay and neither do any of the flattops from that period that I can recall. Some of the archtops did though. Since you're in Vancouver, I recommend that you take it down to Pioneer Music in downtown Portland. They'll be able to tell you what's what:

Pioneer Music

Post pics if you have them. I'd love to see it.

Interesting. Please do post some pics. As rscott points out, the SJ ordinarily would not have had rectangualr inlays.

As my signature line indicates, I'm at work on a book about Gibson flattops from 1942-45. Please check out my website

I suppose that it's possible that an SJ received, for example, an L-5 fingerboard. That did happen in the 1930s. In any event, pics would be helpful and if the fingerboard turns out to be original, I'd love to include the pics on my Registry and in the book.

Thanks. I will post pictures this evening when I get home. I had begun to suspect that the fretboard may have been changed at some time before I got the guitar. I did'nt even know then what I got back in the sixties. Thanks