Gibson Brands Forums

is MY Black Beauty a fake?

Dru_d20

Hi guys,

i'm next in the line with a couple of images about a second hand Les Paul Special II.

I am a beginner, i have documented it for about 2 weeks and i will eventually be able to test it before buying this second hand from someone. Also i will bring a connaisseur with me when testing it. Until then, please help me know if there are reasons to believe this is a fake.

12032010460.jpg

2431960214659061700700.jpg

2431960114659061700700.jpg

Thanks a bunch!

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I got my Epi Custom off a guy on Ebay, who told me it was brand new.

It was, it still had the saran wrap on the pickguard and those Epiphone protectors

on the pups. Mine had a "I" beginning at the sn and when I queried the sn on

guitardater project, it told me it was made by Saein in Korea....maybe it was and

maybe it wasn't..but I got over it..and modified it to my liking and now it's a half

decent player.

I guess my point is stop worrying about it once you got one and

get on with your life. They will NEVER be worth more than about half of what

you paid for them, so just play them!

I don't know if you are referring at my case or in general about Ebay shoppings. I can buy the above epiphone from a guy in the same town as me, and i will be able to test it and have a more experienced friend test it also. I was courious if the images contain any hints to concluding that it's a fake.

I have read about Epiphones Special II fakes. I agree, why fake a 150$ guitar, but this is a question for the chinese guys that do it.

Thanks again for the support, if i'll ever get an info to share, i will share it back with you.

The Special II is genuine. I've never seen a fake Special II. Because they're budget guitars, they don't get faked at all - not enough money in it.