Gibson Brands Forums

Czech made Epis?

Bladerunner

Hi! I have heard about a special line of Epiphones being made in the Czech Republic - supposedly of a higher quality than current Chinese og even Korean versions. Have even heard it was a special production run intended for Scandinavia. Anybody has any information on this - would be highly welcome.

Some Epiphone models for European distribution were made by the Czech company Bohêmia Musico-Delicia in the 1990s. I played a couple of Les Pauls when I was an exchange student in Germany in the late '90s.

To be frank, I reckon there's an undeserved mythology which has developed around these guitars. They may have been a little better than their Asian-made 90s contemporaries, but not strikingly so.

I'd take a good, modern, Qingdao made Les Paul over one of these any day.

• Upvote 1

Just the fact that the Czech models rarely surface creates a mystique about them. In the last 5 years or so I have seen only 3 or 4 for sale on eBay. The rarity of them, especially in North America, can create an unrealistic expectation on the part of the seller as to the value of the guitar. It is only worth what someone is willing to pay.

Those guitars had a serial number that started with the letter "B" and I remember someone on the forum a few years ago had one and that had factory installed Schaller tuning machines. So there are a couple of things that would help to identify one quickly.

As far as superior quality to the South Korean models, it would be good if someone who owns one could give us a review.

OTOH I have heard good things about the craftsmen, artisans and luthiers in the Czech Republic. I have an acquaintance whose wife is from there. The comments he made regarding hand made goods from CR were that the attention to detail was usually very good even on things like toys but especially furniture and musical instruments. So it is always worth taking it for a test drive if you find one you like.

• 1 year later...