Gibson Brands Forums

Help identify Gibson J40 vintage guitar

coda

I purchased this Gibson J40 when I graduated college in 1973. It looks, sounds and plays great. It is currently receiving some TLC from luthier John Thayer of Bremerton, WA who is resetting the neck, reworking the fretboard and rebuilding the bridge. This guitar came with a pinned bridge, I was under the impression they were not manufactured with pinned bridges. Was this a modification to the original instrument? The Serial no. 614244 is stamped on the back of the headstock and "Made in the USA" is below it. There is an orange and white rectangular label beneath the sound hole indicating it was crafted in Kalamazoo. With solid mahogany back and sides and a spruce top that gets tighter every year this guitar really projects great tone. Any information regarding it's creation would be appreciated. Thanks, Brian Grad http://s944.photobucket.com/albums/ad285/bhgrad1/

• 4 months later...

I purchased this Gibson J40 when I graduated college in 1973. It looks, sounds and plays great. It is currently receiving some TLC from luthier John Thayer of Bremerton, WA who is resetting the neck, reworking the fretboard and rebuilding the bridge. This guitar came with a pinned bridge, I was under the impression they were not manufactured with pinned bridges. Was this a modification to the original instrument? The Serial no. 614244 is stamped on the back of the headstock and "Made in the USA" is below it. There is an orange and white rectangular label beneath the sound hole indicating it was crafted in Kalamazoo. With solid mahogany back and sides and a spruce top that gets tighter every year this guitar really projects great tone. Any information regarding it's creation would be appreciated. Thanks, Brian Grad http://s944.photobucket.com/albums/ad285/bhgrad1/