Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Which Les Paul for a Beginner ?

#1 User is offline   h4zE 

• Group: Members

Posted 14 October 2010 - 04:43 AM

Hi Folks,

I'm from Germany and I started playing western guitar for 2 years now.
I enjoyed it very much and now I wanted to start with an e-guitar.

I can't explain how I became a fan of gibson guitars and especially the Les Paul and Firebird models but they have a great design, sound etc. Played by so much top musicans so they can't be bad ;-)

But here's my question:

What kind of Les Paul you could commend for me as a beginner ?
(I don't want an Epiphone model ..I want the Original but maybe you could satisfy me / i know that epiphone models are mauch cheaper than gibson models..but that should not be the point)

Thanks for your help,

David

#2 User is offline   Versatile 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationUK

Posted 14 October 2010 - 05:01 AM

Guten Tag...welcome to the forums!!
IMO a good way to start is either with a Les Paul Studio or a Les Paul Junior....and also choosing a good amp to go with it
Good Luck !! [thumbup]

:-({|=
Fiddling at the Pearly Gates
or somewhere
Lower and Warmer....

I like kayaking....it really floats my boat

I dig most stuff.......Anon(gardener)

#3 User is offline   btoth76 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationLeányvár, Hungary

Posted 14 October 2010 - 05:46 AM

Hello David! Get a nice Les Paul Studio. Great guitar for the price! For amp, find a nice DDR-made Böhm-Regent 30 or 30H and restore it. They are cheap as water and sound better than any today's full-tube amp in 800 EUR range...Believe me, I've got a few. Don't pay a fortune for chinese-made "big brand" amps.

2010 Gibson LP Studio 50's Tribute GT - 2011 Gibson LP Classic Custom AN - 1978 Gibson LP Recording WB - 2011 Gibson L6S SB
2010 Fender FSR Standard Ash Telecaster Butterscotch Blonde (Baja modded)

Böhm-Regent amplification