Gibson Brands Forums

Which Les Paul for a Beginner ?

h4zE

Hi Folks,

I'm from Germany and I started playing western guitar for 2 years now.

I enjoyed it very much and now I wanted to start with an e-guitar.

I can't explain how I became a fan of gibson guitars and especially the Les Paul and Firebird models but they have a great design, sound etc. Played by so much top musicans so they can't be bad ;-)

But here's my question:

What kind of Les Paul you could commend for me as a beginner ?

(I don't want an Epiphone model ..I want the Original but maybe you could satisfy me / i know that epiphone models are mauch cheaper than gibson models..but that should not be the point)

Thanks for your help,

David

Hello David! Get a nice Les Paul Studio. Great guitar for the price! For amp, find a nice DDR-made Böhm-Regent 30 or 30H and restore it. They are cheap as water and sound better than any today's full-tube amp in 800 EUR range...Believe me, I've got a few. Don't pay a fortune for chinese-made "big brand" amps.

I would recommend a Gibson Traditional. Old school electronics, binding, 57 classics - great guitars that should keep you proud and happy for a long time. I felt the same way you do about LPs - the looks the sound the feel...my 1st electric was an Ebony Traditional and it was awesome!! And you've been playing for 2 years, so no reason to skimp simply because you 'are a beginner'. Its alot more fun & interesting learning on good gear you are proud to own!

Get the best Gibson LP you can afford! I'd suggest a used one because you can get more for you money.

The better it is the more you will.... Play it, Love it, and won't be thinking you have to sell it for a better one someday!