Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1974 les paul custom just acquired guitar

#1 User is offline   Davey58 

• Group: Members
  • LocationLEICESTER , ENGLAND

Posted 10 February 2011 - 08:37 AM

Hi all, i am a newbie on this gibson site and am just trying to find my way around it at present.
I have three les pauls, a standard of 2004, a black les paul custom of 2008, and my latest acquisition, a 1974 cherry burst les paul custom.
I am a lefty but please dont hold that against me,lol.
I would love to hear from anyone here on this gibson site who can give me any more information on my 74 custom especially!.
I have had the guitar a little over 1 week now and i have to say i was astonished at the feel and playability of this guitar.
The action took me by surprise when i first pick up the guitar and starten to play it for the first time, and the overall feel was amazing in my hands.
I hope this makes sense to someone as i was completely, and very pleasantly surprised with the whole feel of this instrument.
I find the sound awesome, and absoloutly love this guitar. What a find!
It feels a very different beast to my 2008 custom for a start. I think it is probably down to a much slimmer neck!.
I have read a little about these guitars from the early to mid seventies and noted that they had three piece necks, and a three piece maple top. this one also has a two piece pancake body but, if that is in any way, not a good thing,i have to ask the question why? because, as i have said, this instrument is awesome, and has now become my first instrument of choice.
Thanks for reading my rammblings, but, on a more serious note, can anyone out there tell me a bit more about this latest guitar i have been blessed to get hold of.
cheers folks.

Attached thumbnail(s)

• Attached Image: 1974 les paul.JPG

#2 User is offline   LPguitarman 

• RUSH Fan
  • LocationSt. Louis, MO

Posted 10 February 2011 - 12:28 PM