Gibson Brands Forums

post your 1950's gibsons!

ivxxlxxxv

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 5 weeks later...

Hi -

I'm a real novice at these guitars, but I have what I believe is a 1954 Gibson acoustic (FON X8891)...don't even really know which model it is.

My dad bought it for himself as a high school graduation present. It's in pretty good shape, but needs some repairs (tuning pegs are fragile, brittle and broken, probably needs a general "tune-up", peg to hold a strap at the bottom is missing, new strings, etc.).

Questions:

1. What model is this?

2. Can you recommend a quality luthier in the northern New Jersey/New York City area who could restore this guitar to "original" condition.

3. Any estimate for it's value in current condition? in fully restored condition? (I do not want to sell it...just curious as to value).

Thanks!!!

Andrew

post-25608-063446200 1315693100_thumb.jpg

That looks like a J-50. Probably a great guitar. I would recommend Retrofret in Brooklyn... they do museum-quality restoration and could certainly help you out getting that into shape. Probably not as cheap as your neighborhood shop, but they would do the job the right way, with no worries. Super nice people too.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 months later...

Hi, new to the forum and new to playing (4 months). I have a 1958 ES-125, will edit post with pictures later today. This was my mother's guitar till she gave it to me last fall. She never learned to play so it has been sitting in the case since she bought it used in '65. I have really been having a good time playing it and as I get better it becomes even more fun to own! Love the warm tone and sound from this classic! I bought a Martin DCX-1E to play on a regular basis but the Gibson is SWEET! Not quite sure how to rotate the pic, sorry.

CIMG6473.jpg

My recently bought '58 LG-2:-

DSCN2866.jpg

DSCN2860-1.jpg

DSCN2859.jpg

AND,......She's out by only a few months but screw it,..here's my '60 ES-125 T.