Gibson Brands Forums

whats a very good tube amp with little feedback/hissing?

jerrylo913

Hi Jerry,

Are you set on swapping the amp? Have you done any problem analysis?

Does the hissing happen if nothing is plugged in? If so, maybe an amp tech or Vox could advise. I suspect, but I'm not an expert, that it could be a faulty cap.

If not,

- does the amp hiss equally with humbucker and single coil guitars?

- have you tried plugging the guitar in directly i.e. guitar -> lead -> amp and no effects?

- have you tried a different lead?

- does your amp hiss at home or just in church?

RN

i noticed it depends where you plug it in....at home in my room it hisses here and there. Down stairs in the living room no hissing at all unless you turn on the lights....i only took it to church twice, i tried two different oulet ...so my guess would be i just need to find a good outlet.

have you guys tried using those outlet converter thats suppose to eliminate ground loop? i wonder if that would help?

Room wiring, fluorescent lights. If you have a friend with a tube amp try his in the same locations and see if it reacts similarly. Sometimes the polarity of an outlet might be a problem. AC30 is a good amp. A good music store will allow you to take an amp to the church, or your home to check it out, if you have something else in mind you might try this also. a fender twin reverb reissue is a quite, nice sounding amp.

peace

Maybe a good power conditioner is in your future, it sounds like an electrical issue or grounding issue. Worth having a tech look at it, but also worth looking into a good power conditioner. If it has an ground switch on it like a Fender Twin, have you toggle it in those noise producing outlets?