Gibson Brands Forums

Soldering

Tim Plains

Soldering experts...

I'm new to soldering and my education consists of one youtube video. Replacing caps seemed easy enough and I've replaced the caps in four LPs now. The way I did it was heat up the existing solder, remove the old cap, then heat up the existing solder again and stick in the new cap. Is this considered a cold joint? I can't really see any harm of doing it this way, it was quick and simple...but is there any harm? If so, I'll remove everything and resolder the joint.

As far as guitars go...would a cold joint have a negative impact on anything?

Not a problem Tim... As long as there is enough solder to hold youre fine... A cold solder joint is when the solder joint is old, cracked and brittle. Often times you can spot a cold solder joint when instead of a shiny silvery looking solder joint the solder looks dull, no shine at all... If you spot one look close and chances are you will see carcks in the solder which results in intermittent contact or no contact at all...

I like to remove old solder if I can, you can get a desoldering bulb from Radio Shack, it looks like an ear syringe, but is teflon lined so you won't burn through it. Just heat the solder and suck it up. I've said it in the LP forum when I had my problems with my BFG and I'll say it again, I've rewired and modded almost every guitar I've owned and never had a problem until I worked on my Les Paul. I guess that was a sign not to mess with what works, anyway modding is fun when it works.

One test for colder solder joints is to allow the solder to cool, then give the wire a tug. If it is a colder solder joint the wire will come free. Did this when I soldered the braided wire to the back of the pots. All where good expect for one. Tugged on it and it came off even though it looked fine.

turtle, reproduction BumbleBee caps from RS Guitar in both the R8 and R9.

The fake Bees that come in the historics are now in my LP Standard and Custom.