Gibson Brands Forums

2002 gibson sg faded with crescent moon inlay's

bluesman77

Hi guy's, I'm new to the thread, i was wondering if anyone could tell me anything about these 2002 sg's with the crescent moon inlay's.. Are they that much of a rare guitar, I have a chance to buy

one for pretty reasonable price,,, I know that they have open face humbuckers, and alot of the kid's love them for crunchy stuff.. I was wondering if they would make a good blues axe??

Thanks

Hello, I just posted a similar question. I have a 2003 or 2004 gibson v faded with dots. The thing that makes it unique IMO is that it has an ebony fretboard. I am trying to find out what they are worth as I haven't seen another one like it. I think the moon inlays on yours are cool. My V sounds great and I doubt i'd sell it. I got it at an unheard of price used with a gigbag. I am actually thinking of buying a hardshell case for it from Gibson. I'd like to install a vibrato like hendrix and Kravitz but i'm afraid it would devalue the guitar. I love the vintage relic look of these faded models. They have gone up in price too. The V is now over $900 new street price. If u like it, it plays well, and is in good shape get it. I don't know i'd pay the new price, but at a used price they are a bargain!!