Gibson Brands Forums

What type of music do you play?

Todd Wilson

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I pretty much only play what I write these days. That would be 1920s and 1930s Tin Pan Alley styled songs, which are inflected with piedmont blues, ragtime, early jazz, old time country and/or barbershop quartet melody---occasionally I come up with a parlor music style, very old timey country song.

When I'm not playing Tibetan death chants I like folk, country folk, Dylan, John Prine, Guy Clark, Jerry Jeff Walker, and any music that resembles that style. Basically, anything I can figure out how to play. I'm pretty much self taught so I had an idiot for a student! I do enjoy myself though.

For me, I love strumming on any classic rock type song, but my favorite stuff to play is fingerstyle pieces by Leo Kottke, Al Petteway and others. I am loving my new found music in DADGAD, Drop D and Open G tunings but I always seem to revert back to the blues once I am done learning a new piece.

In the late 70s I "discovered" Buddy Holly. I mean to say I found there was more to him than 'That'll be the Day". I bought his greatest hits and wore it out.... in fact my girlfriend and I would almost fight over the album as neither one of us had a cassette recorder to make a copy. In 1984 I found a Decca double album with a lot of lesser known cuts on it at a yard sale for 25 cents. It really messed with my head because there was some GREAT stuff on there (Learning the Game, That makes it Tough) but it troubled me that the guitar work did not sound like Buddy and I didn't like the schlocky backup singers. Something just didn't fit. About 5 years later I heard snippets of what are now known as the "apartment tapes", Buddy and guitar. Period.

Brilliant. Freakin' brilliant. It all makes sense now. They took the apartment takes and glommed all kinds of garbage over them.

So I'm bidding on the apartment tapes cd.