Gibson Brands Forums

7 months of playing =?

harmonicchaos

hey i've been playing guitar for about 6 1/2 months. i'm entirely self taught and don't know any other musicians right now. i know it doesn't really matter and everyone goes at their own speed - but what can a majority a players after this amount of time do? i guess some of my highlights include: i can sight-read quite well especially if i hear the song, i have a very good ear and can play a song after listening to it a little bit (at least all of the songs i've tried which is quite a few). i can fingerpick moderately well and have been getting a little faster at flatpicking during scales (but i'd like to be faster. i don't want to be a shredder (not my style) but i like some stuff like guns 'n roses and i want to be able to play that stuff more easliy too). i can play by ear the slow to medium speed solos i've tried also. i have been writing my own stuff for a while too and it's composed of simple one string melodies, chord sequences and some multi-string melodies. solos are about the only thing i haven't tried to write (i don't play many either).

any technique boosters or any interesting licks and miscellaneous stuff would be cool too.

i absolutely LOVE playing but sometimes i get curious as to how well i play. it doesn't matter but i would like to try to start playing with other people and not embarass myself! feedback and questions are welcomed and appreciated!

harmon...

Itll come in time. Theres no shortcuts...nothing. You just have to practise everyday.

My daugter is 14. Shes seen me play guitar all of her life. Last year she wanted to learn.

She wanted her own electric, so I got her a nice Ibanez starter model.

Long story short....She gave up after a few weeks. She thought since it came so easily

to me, that shed be "wailing" away in no time flat. As I told her..I have been playing

for over 30 years. You gotta put in the time my friend, and DO NOT GIVE UP!