Gibson Brands Forums

What is the Best Tube Amp under a Grand suitable for a Les Paul

guitarhead

Well, to be specific, I am looking for pure demented growling tube amp sound, preferably low wattage, "for home/practice use" with on board OD & Revereb, at under a grand, Please submit your experience. BTW. I curretnly have a Class 5, and it is limited to say the least and I have it up for sale.

I play Led Z. Pink Floyd, Rush and this sort of ballzy sounds.

• Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've heard nothing but terrific things about the Egnater amps, although I have no hands-on experience with them. The Rebel 20 head goes for about $550 US, and has a really cool feature that enables it to utilize its EL84 and 6V6 power tubes in an either/or or mixed mode, which would, I think, give it incredible flexibility. If I was in the market for a tube amp, it would be the first place I'd be looking.

I can personally vouch for the Marshall JCM2000s. I have the DSL 100w Head, got for about $400. Passed on the cab for $200 cuz one of the speaker had a tiny rip on it. But you can usually find a halfstack for around $900. They're totall worth it, they're all tube- no clipping diode gain stage- and huge flexibility. You can get a TON of different sounds out of them. I run my Les Paul Trad w/ split coil p-90s through it and it GROWLS.

Just my $0.02