Gibson Brands Forums

LOUDEST guitar

mooseguy

Thing is, if I was a bluegrasser, I'd be tempted not to use a D-28 or other accepted Martin model as that's what all the bluegrass players tend to use, why would I want my sound, or our collective sound to be strikingly similar to every other bluegrass mob out there?

The other thing I found odd is that the pioneers who influenced and started the bluegrass thing half the time, or most of the time, played Gibsons.

EDIT: while I take an interest, and have read up on it, I am not an expert on Bluegrass and I can't play it very well at all.

I don't know how to use a pick.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Any acoustic-electric guitar will do. but get a LOUD AMP! a guitar will only sound loud as much as you make it sound loud.

Amps on the other hand, and blast them banjos away! [thumbup]

something like this might help [flapper]

800px-MarshallStack_Slayer.jpg

Wow! You can use any uke and plug it on this wall of speakers; that will take care of those banjos! :lol:

I have lost count of the number of guitars described as a "banjo killer" in my lifetime. Thing is, I have yet to hear a geetar that was un-mic'd or without a pickup that could beat down a banjo.

As someone noted what the bluegrass guys seem to really dig is not only volume but the booming low end of a good Martin dread.

If you wanted to think a bit outside the box and stand out in the crowd - you could always snag something like a Harmony Sovereign and have the bracing redone. Based on how good they sound stock, it might just out-Martin a Martin.

I agree as I own one myself but I still neeed MORE VOLUME

Moose

P.S. Loudest one I ever owned was a Kalamazoo arch top-wish I had it now

Where have you been young man?

I thought this was an old thread

Nice to hear from you here, made me come out of infrequent lurking

Fred sends love to Nou Nou!

J