Gibson Brands Forums

How to spot a fake Les Paul

cam011235

How do we spot a fake? how to avoid being ripped off..and to stop it happening

I am wondering if this thread is a mistake ...as this same info could be used by people scamming with fakes and i am now wondering if i have made a mistake though with good intentions.

I am still learning my way here

however feel free to discuss the issue or to vent to i know alot of us are frustrated and tired of this happening

heres a couple just to use as examples

the burst is a verified fake though looks quite good the very green tuners are supposed to indicators of chinese fake

CounterfeitLesPaul1.jpgCounterfeitLesPaul2.jpg

heres a more obvious one a fake custom with the 3 screws truss rod cover and crooked gibson logo and incorrect nut

headstock.jpg

any input would be good so we have a thread people can look at as a reference..and to help stop fakes

Hi im not an expert but from my experience so far their are a few things to look out for

# The tuners should be straight with no curve

# The truss rod cover should not sit on the nut

# The toggle should be switchcraft (Have a stop strip under the toggle head)

# The body is always done in Nitro if its feels plastic its probably ploy

# The Pickups should have "Patent applied for" sticker or "Gibson USA" engraved in the back with thick wrapped connections

# The pots should be CTS or engraved with "Gibson"

# It should include the Gibson Manual & Check Card

# The rear of the Headstock should be stamped into with serial, "Made in USA" and from 2008 (I think) the year stamp.

Hope this helps [thumbup]

UPDATE

In response to the above fakes seem to use "EPIPHONE" style bridges (Fat shafts)

and on a Gibson the finish isn't as glossy thanks to the Nitro

one HUGE rule to follow is on Ebay, UNLESS you see LOTS of images inc the COA stuff be very VERY careful as alot of the time this is where the fakes are lurking, expecially the more prized models...