Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson ES 339 Lefty

BluesyBluesington

Hi everyone I am new here to this forum. I hope I am welcome, and so to start myself off I pose you all with a technical question about the Gibson ES339. I really want to buy myself a Gibson ES 339, and I have been visiting my local Guitar Center for the past 6 months testing this guitar. I need to have one and I have saved up enough cash to buy one. The problem is I am left handed and as far as I know Gibson only makes the 339 for right handed players. So my idea to get past my dilemma is to flip the thing upside down and string it lefty. Comfortability is not a problem, and the knobs do not bother me at all, and I have been playing it strung upside down to test it. I have spoken to two guitar technicians and fellow musicians who say it is possible but my intonation would be off by a hair. I am willing to do it if it is safe to do so. This is where my confusion is because some say the off intonation is noticeable and some say it is not, and so I need a clear answer here before I drop two grand on a guitar Gibson should make lefty. I realize there are many other guitars Gibson makes that are in this category, but I really have to have an ES 339 it is such a great guitar.

I agree about potential intonation problems if you re-string a 339 as a leftie.

My 339 ABR saddles are up as far as they can go, so it wouldn't work for me.

The conversion might work with a Nashville or other bridge with more saddle adjustment capability ... but definitely do not buy sight-unseen, and instead look closely at the bridge of any 339 you're thinking about (e.g., treble E saddle should have lots of room to move forward).