Gibson Brands Forums

Issue with a "dead" sound.

Moxley

Hi everyone, this is my first post. sorry it had to be about my gibson not working!

ive been playing for about 5 years with heavy practice, i bought my first gibson about 7 months ago. there were numerous problems with it, but a lot of them were because of the store that ordered it.

however, i have a problem with the high e string, ive never encountered this on any of my guitars or others that ive set up, so i have no clue what it is.

when i pick an open high e note, it makes a "dead" kind of sound. the key is there, but it sounds strained, almost liek it is buzzing with a sitar-type sound. it has no sustain on that string, and is very weak in sound.

i checked for fret buzz, and there is none, my tail piece was about a cm off the body(cant remember why i did that), my bridge isnt that high, as i try to have as low action as i can without buzz. the neck is straight, but ive had this problem since i got it.

any ideas on what it is? any input is appreciated!

it's been like this since i got it, through new sets of strings and all. it only happens in open notes. so im thinking it's the nut, i checked eveything else, but i could possibly have overlooked a bur in the saddle. ill check again.

Hi everyone' date=' this is my first post. sorry it had to be about my gibson not working!

ive been playing for about 5 years with heavy practice, i bought my first gibson about 7 months ago. there were numerous problems with it, but a lot of them were because of the store that ordered it.

however, i have a problem with the high e string, ive never encountered this on any of my guitars or others that ive set up, so i have no clue what it is.

when i pick an open high e note, it makes a "dead" kind of sound. the key is there, but it sounds strained, almost liek it is buzzing with a sitar-type sound. it has no sustain on that string, and is very weak in sound.